Too much! My view on iPads in class:

  • What are the strengths? 
  • Do you think you would do these things? Why or why not?
  • What are the weaknesses you would have to be careful to look out for?
  • Where did you get this information?
  • Anything else you’d like to say about the trend.

I recently have observed a class with an iPad program and even though I believe technology is good in the classroom I feel sometimes there is an over dependency that comes with it. I was in a second grade classroom and I watched the teacher have each student get on an iPad to learn division. Each student watched a video of a teacher teaching division and then they had to complete a worksheet that aligned with the video. I think it is great to use different mediums in the classroom to teach but it is all they focused on. The teacher did not spend a minute actually teaching division herself or reviewing it as a class. I personally have always struggled with math, and seeing most of the students not filling out their sheets and not focusing on the iPad video worried me. It’s important to understand the basics because that is the foundation that students will depend on throughout their life. Personally I would never use iPads in the classroom, computers and laptops I would use but I feel ipads would be unnecessary and more effort to keep up with. But there are advantages that come with using iPads in the classroom if that is right for you as a teacher.

These advantages are:

  • Immediate feedback on class participation
  • Simplification of collection and retention of materials
  • Reading/Annotating paperless (Which can be debated many students need hands on material and prefer books with spines.)
  • Shared access to files with students
  • Free books available online
  • Numerous resources

Disadvantages are:

  • WiFi issues
  • Distracting
  • Charging issues
  • Need for a computer still

As I said before I would not use iPads in my classroom. I feel students are already very involved with technology and school should be a break from that and limit it. Taking English courses and planning to teach English I feel it is impossible for a student to truly annotate without a pen in their hand. It is mostly personal preference and my opinion that would keep me from having iPads in my classroom. Students can learn just as much and be as prepared without iPads.

I found my information from this link and I base my answers off my observations.

Here is the link: http://www.teachhub.com/advantagesdisadvantages-ipad-classroom

 

Leave a comment